About Us

Established in Munich in 2012 by Dr. Alexander Kunkel, KUNKEL FINE ART specializes in the purchase and sale of paintings, drawings and sculptures of the 19th and 20th centuries. In addition, KUNKEL FINE ART is happy to act in an advisory or intermediary capacity negotiating purchases and sales on a commission basis. The main focus of the business is on German artists with a special connection to Italy. KUNKEL FINE ART also has a strong interest in Salon artists and secessionists, as well as artists whose work was published in the illustrated magazines Jugend and Simplicissimus.

KUNKEL FINE ART’s dealing strategy is directed towards artistic quality and art-historical importance. Our interests focus around established masters whose work is held in leading public collections but we also showcase lesser-known or overlooked artists whose work deserves rediscovery. In this, we work closely with international scholars, curators and museum experts.

The KUNKEL FINE ART website offers a continually updated overview of the artworks available. Access to technical descriptions and artists’ biographies is quick and easy. The ‘Video Library’ section contains short video clips presenting individual artworks. These artworks are marked Videothek. Voice-over commentaries introduce the works and explain their background, origin and art-historical context. The ‘Young Collectors’ section lists all drawings, paintings and sculptures priced below €10,000. They are marked Young Collectors. This is designed to provide greater price transparency as well as offer young collectors access to information about current market values and give them an opportunity to compare prices.

Website visitors can subscribe to the KUNKEL FINE ART Newsletter online. The site posts regular updates about the company’s activities and its art fair schedule. KUNKEL FINE ART participates year-round at leading international art fairs. We also stage themed exhibitions and special events in the gallery, coordinated with key events in the art-market calendar.

As we do not have fixed opening times we would be grateful if you would contact us in advance to arrange an appointment.

KUNKEL FINE ART is happy to assist if you would like advice on any aspect of collecting, or wish to consult us on the acquisition or sale of an individual work of art, an entire collection or an estate. We look forward to hearing from you.

Dr. Alexander Kunkel
Dr. Alexander Kunkel

Über uns

KUNKEL FINE ART wurde 2012 von Dr. Alexander Kunkel in München gegründet. Der Ankauf und Verkauf sowie die Vermittlung von Zeichnungen, Gemälden und Skulpturen des 19. und 20. Jahrhunderts bilden den Schwerpunkt unserer Tätigkeit. Zu unseren Spezialgebieten zählen deutschsprachige Künstler, deren Werke eine Beziehung zu Italien aufweisen, zwischen Salon und Sezession stehen bzw. in den beiden illustrierten Zeitschriften „Jugend“ und „Simplicissimus“ veröffentlicht wurden.

Ausschlaggebend für das Angebot von KUNKEL FINE ART sind künstlerische Qualität sowie kunsthistorische Relevanz. Neben prominenten Künstlern, die fest im Kanon der Kunstgeschichte verankert und in bedeutenden öffentlichen Sammlungen vertreten sind, zeigen wir bislang weniger bekannte Zeitgenossen, sofern ihr Schaffen eine spannende Neuentdeckung darstellt. Hierbei arbeitet KUNKEL FINE ART eng mit Kunsthistorikern, Kuratoren und Museen im In- und Ausland zusammen.

Auf unserer Homepage finden Interessenten einen repräsentativen Überblick zum aktuellen Angebot von KUNKEL FINE ART. Neben den Informationen zu einzelnen Werken sind die Biographien der Künstler abrufbar. Darüber hinaus enthält die Rubrik „Videothek“ Videothek Filmclips zu ausgesuchten Objekten, in denen die Hintergründe ihrer Entstehung sowie ihr kunsthistorischer Kontext erläutert werden. Ferner sind in der Rubrik „Young Collectors“ Young Collectors sämtliche Zeichnungen, Gemälde und Skulpturen aus dem Angebot von KUNKEL FINE ART unter 10.000 € zusammengestellt. Dies entspricht dem Anspruch einer transparenten Preispolitik und soll vor allem jungen Kunstsammlern die Möglichkeit bieten, sich über Marktwerte zu informieren und diese miteinander zu vergleichen.

Daneben enthält unsere Homepage, auf der sich Interessenten auch für den Newsletter eintragen können, die wichtigsten Informationen zu den laufenden Aktivitäten von KUNKEL FINE ART. Hierzu zählt vor allem die Teilnahme an international renommierten Kunstmessen und die Organisation von Sonderausstellungen zu bestimmten Themen bzw. Anlässen in unseren Räumlichkeiten. Da wir darüber hinaus keine festen Öffnungszeiten haben, bitten wir für Ihren Besuch um Voranmeldung.

KUNKEL FINE ART freut sich auf Ihre Kontaktaufnahme und steht Ihnen beim Aufbau bzw. bei der Auflösung Ihrer Sammlung sowie dem Ankauf und Verkauf einzelner Kunstwerke gerne zur Verfügung.

Dr. Alexander Kunkel
Dr. Alexander Kunkel