Available Artworks

Figures at a Coffee House Table
Schlichter, Rudolf

Figures at a Coffee House Table

14.500 €

more Details

Apocalyptic Scene
Schlichter, Rudolf

Apocalyptic Scene

32.000 €

more Details

Monkey and mythical creature on a seesaw
Schlichter, Rudolf

Monkey and mythical creature on a seesaw

22.000 €

more Details

Mountain Landscape
Schlichter, Rudolf

Mountain Landscape near Bayrischzell, Bavaria

6.500 €

more Details

The Inselberg/ Monadnock of the Swabian Jura
Schlichter, Rudolf

The Inselberg/ Monadnock of the Swabian Jura

6.500 €

more Details

Sold Artworks

Schlichter, Rudolf

The Schafberg (Mountain in the Salzburg region)

more Details

Schlichter, Rudolf

Speedy Schlichter

more Details

Rudolf Schlichter - Speedy
Schlichter, Rudolf

Speedy

more Details

Rudolf Schlichter - Margot
Schlichter, Rudolf

Margot

more Details

Bouille-Bouille (Cat Sleeping)
Schlichter, Rudolf

Bouille-Bouille (Cat Sleeping)

more Details

Biography

Rudolf Schlichter

1890 Calw – 1955 Munich

Rudolf Schlichter studied painting under Hans Thoma and Wilhelm Trübner at the Karlsruhe Academy of Art from 1910 to 1916. He was a free-spirited student with an appetite for the bizarre and unconventional. During his time at the Academy he frequented bohemian circles and, initiated by a fellow student, mined the sordid secrets of a shadowy half-world. This provided the perfect escape from the bourgeois upbringing that he despised and allowed him to live out his erotic obsessions.

Like many other artists of his generation Schlichter suffered from the severe physical and emotional effects of the First World War, although he succeeded in securing early release from service by going on hunger strike. Reflecting on the impact of the war, he was convinced that the collapse of the German Kaiserreich was not a catastrophe but instead, an opportunity for a new start which heralded radical social and artistic change. In 1919, he moved to Berlin where he joined the Communist party and the November Group, a revolutionary group of radical artists. Fellow members were George Grosz, John Heartfield and Otto Dix. Schlichter soon advanced to be one of the leading artists of the young Weimar Republic, if not the most controversial.

Schlichter was active as a painter and as a writer. In 1920s Berlin he led a stimulating but chaotic life divided between the red light milieu and intellectualist circles. Members of his own politically active circle were left-wing writers like Bertold Brecht, Alfred Döblin and Carl Zuckmayer and later on, the radical nationalist writer Ernst Jünger.

Schlichter’s restlessness is reflected in his work. His social and political awareness led him to explore a range of artistic styles from Dada and Futurism to Verism, ultimately arriving at Neue Sachlichkeit. He became one of the leading figures of the movement and enjoyed considerable success with his psychologically incisive portraits. An acute observer, he produced an acerbic portrayal of urban life, depicting his models on the street and in cafes and saloon bars, where he mingled immaculately coiffed, moustachioed philistines with floozies, prostitutes, pimps and the marginalised.

Schlichter’s meeting with the actress Elfriede Elisabeth Köhler in 1927 was of great significance for his emotional and artistic development. They were married in 1929. Known as Speedy after a popular contemporary film, she was his muse, angel and temptress, mannequin and life model – the Madonna and domina that he immortalized in hundreds of drawings, watercolours and gouaches. But she was also a catalyst for radical change in his attitude. Influenced by her, he turned to Catholicism and embraced nationalist ideas. The shift prompted him to abandon the hubbub of big-city life in Berlin and move to the quiet Swabian bishopric of Rottenburg am Neckar in 1932. Hopes of a fresh start went hand in hand with a new interest in the realistic portrayal of landscape.

When the Nazis consolidated their power in 1933, creating a one-party state with Hitler as Chancellor, Schlichter was rapidly targeted by the Reichskammer der Bildenden Künste, from which he was temporarily excluded. In 1936 he and his wife settled in Stuttgart. Over the next few years his works were purged from German museums. In 1937 they were seized as ‘degenerate’ art and shown at the defamatory exhibitions staged in numerous cities throughout Germany. In 1938, he was briefly arrested on grounds of apparent unnationalsozialistische Lebensführung. In 1939 Schlichter and his wife moved to Munich. In the same year he was banned from exhibiting. Both his studio and their apartment were destroyed by Allied bombing in 1942.

At the end of World War II Schlichter entered a new phase of creative activity, engaging intensively with the traumatic events of the Third Reich. He began to produce apocalyptic visions of a surreal world populated with nightmarish hybrid figures and fantastical creatures to voice his critique of the modern technological world. He saw technological advance as a threat to European culture. His representational approach was influenced by the pictorial language of French Surrealism, setting his work apart from the trend towards abstraction in the post-war period. He exhibited widely in Germany and his work was lauded at the Venice Biennale in 1948 and 1954. He died from cancer in Munich in 1955.

PDF Download

Verfügbare Werke

Schlichter, Rudolf

Der Schafberg (Salzburger Land)

Preis auf Anfrage

mehr Details

Rudolf Schlichter - Im Kaffeehaus
Schlichter, Rudolf

Im Kaffeehaus, Tischrunde

Preis auf Anfrage

mehr Details

Rudolf Schlichter - Affe und Fabelwesen auf einer Wippe
Schlichter, Rudolf

Affe und Fabelwesen auf einer Wippe

Preis auf Anfrage

mehr Details

Rudolf Schlichter - Berglandschaft
Schlichter, Rudolf

Berglandschaft

Preis auf Anfrage

mehr Details

Rudolf Schlichter - Die Inselberge des schwäbischen Jura
Schlichter, Rudolf

Die Inselberge des schwäbischen Jura

Preis auf Anfrage

mehr Details

Verkaufte Werke

Schlichter, Rudolf

Speedy Schlichter

mehr Details

Rudolf Schlichter - Margot
Schlichter, Rudolf

Margot

mehr Details

Rudolf Schlichter - Speedy
Schlichter, Rudolf

Speedy

mehr Details

Rudolf Schlichter - Apokalyptische Szene
Schlichter, Rudolf

Apokalyptische Szene

mehr Details

Rudolf Schlichter - Bouille-Bouille (liegende Katze)
Schlichter, Rudolf

Bouille-Bouille (liegende Katze)

mehr Details

Biografie

Rudolf Schlichter

1890 Calw – 1955 München

Zwischen 1910 und 1916 studiert der exzentrisch veranlagte Rudolf Schlichter Malerei an der Karlsruher Kunstakademie. Dort knüpft er Kontakte zur Bohème und taucht über einen Studienkollegen in die Halb- und Unterwelt ein. Hierdurch distanziert er sich einerseits von dem verhassten Kleinbürgermilieu seines Elternhauses und verschafft sich andererseits Möglichkeiten zur Auslebung seiner obsessiven erotischen Neigungen.

Wie viele Künstler seiner Generation wird Schlichter durch die Erlebnisse des Ersten Weltkrieges traumatisiert. Daher empfindet er den Zusammenbruch des deutschen Kaiserreichs nicht als Katastrophe, sondern sieht in ihm die Chance für einen radikalen künstlerisch-gesellschaftlichen Neuanfang. Um daran mitwirken zu können, zieht er 1919 nach Berlin und tritt der KPD bei. Als Mitglied der skandalträchtigen Novembergruppe wird Schlichter zusammen mit George Grosz, John Heartfield und Otto Dix in Kürze zu einem der bekanntesten, wenn auch umstrittensten Künstler der jungen Weimarer Republik.

Im Berlin der 1920er Jahre führt der künstlerisch-literarisch doppelbegabte Schlichter ein gleichermaßen unstetes wie schillerndes Leben, das sich zwischen Rotlichtmilieu und Intellektuellenkreisen bewegt. Zu seinen politisch engagierten Freunden und Bekannten zählen die linksgerichteten Autoren Bertold Brecht, Alfred Döblin und Carl Zuckmayer, später auch der nationalistische Schriftsteller Ernst Jünger.

Schlichters Rastlosigkeit schlägt sich unmittelbar in seinem Werk nieder. Im Eiltempo verarbeitet er dadaistische, futuristische und veristische Impulse, die ihn schließlich zur Neuen Sachlichkeit führen. Er wird bald einer ihrer Hauptvertreter und feiert mit psychologisch durchdringenden Porträts Erfolge. Daneben wird der scharfe Beobachter Schlichter zum Chronisten des Großstadtlebens. Seine Modelle erscheinen meist in Straßen- oder Caféhausszenen, wobei er neben Spießbürgern bevorzugt Prostituierte, Zuhälter und andere Randgruppen der Gesellschaft behandelt.

Von großer Bedeutung für Schlichters persönlichen wie künstlerischen Werdegang ab 1927 ist die Begegnung mit Elfriede Elisabeth Köhler, die er 1929 heiratet. Seine Speedy genannte Muse ist ihm Engel und Versucherin, Mannequin und Modell, Madonna und Domina in einem und wird von ihm in hunderten von Zeichnungen, Aquarellen und Gemälden verewigt. Darüber hinaus bewirkt Speedy einen radikalen Gesinnungswandel bei Schlichter. Unter ihrem Einfluss wendet er sich dem Katholizismus sowie Nationalismus zu und zieht 1932 von der pulsierenden Metropole Berlin in die schwäbische Bischofsstadt Rottenburg am Neckar. Der Umzug ist mit der Hoffnung auf einen künstlerischen Neuanfang verbunden, wobei die realistische Darstellung der Landschaft in den Mittelpunkt rückt.

Nach der Machtübernahme der Nationalsozialisten 1933 gerät Schlichter schnell ins Visier der Reichskammer der Bildenden Künste, aus der er zeitweise ausgeschlossen wird. In den kommenden Jahren werden seine Werke aus deutschen Museen entfernt und in der ab 1937 in mehreren Städten gezeigten Femeausstellung Entartete Kunst verhöhnt. Ihren seit 1936 in Stuttgart lebenden Urheber inhaftiert man 1938 vorübergehend wegen seiner suspekten Lebensführung. Nach Schlichters Freilassung zieht er mit seiner Frau 1939 nach München, wo sein Atelier und die gemeinsame Wohnung 1942 ausgebombt werden.

Das Ende des Zweiten Weltkrieges führt bei Schlichter zu einer produktiven Schaffensphase, in der er sich intensiv mit den Ereignissen des Dritten Reiches auseinandersetzt. Ferner thematisiert er in Form beklemmend-endzeitlicher Visionen mit allerhand Misch- und Fabelwesen die Bedrohung der europäischen Kulturwelt durch die moderne Technik und Zivilisation. Hierbei bedient er sich einer vom französischen Surrealismus beeinflussten gegenständlich-realistischen Bildsprache mit ausgeprägt malerischer Qualität. Damit hebt er sich von der in der Nachkriegszeit vorherrschenden Tendenz zur Abstraktion ab und erregt nicht nur auf Ausstellungen in Deutschland, sondern auch auf den Biennalen von 1948 und 1954 in Venedig große Aufmerksamkeit. 1955 stirbt Schlichter in München an Darmkrebs.