Available Artworks

The Indecisive Rococo Cavalier
Kley, Heinrich

The Indecisive Rococo Cavalier

8.800 €

more Details

Caught
Kley, Heinrich

Caught

Price on request

more Details

Centaur hunting
Kley, Heinrich

Centaur hunting

3.800 €

more Details

The Towers of the Munich Frauenkirche
Kley, Heinrich

The Towers of the Munich Frauenkirche

4.800 €

more Details

Still life with Flowers
Kley, Heinrich

Still life with Flowers

4.200 €

more Details

Shadow of the Zeppelin
Kley, Heinrich

Shadow of the Zeppelin

6.500 €

more Details

A Hot Evening Meal
Kley, Heinrich

A Hot Evening Meal

5.500 €

more Details

Sold Artworks

Kley, Heinrich

Satyr with two Maenads

more Details

Frau Potiphar
Kley, Heinrich

Frau Potiphar

more Details

The Teacher
Kley, Heinrich

The Teacher

more Details

High-Speed Printing Press
Kley, Heinrich

High-Speed Printing Press

more Details

The Apple
Kley, Heinrich

The Apple

more Details

The race
Kley, Heinrich

The race

more Details

Biography

Heinrich Kley

1863 Karlsruhe – 1945 Munich

After Heinrich Kley completes his studies at the Academy of Arts in Karlsruhe in 1885, he struggles to establish himself in his hometown’s art scene. Although he manages to secure the occasional commission from local residents, offices and companies, and is active within the artist community taking part in exhibitions – greater successes prove elusive.

The tables start to turn after 1900, when the Krupp Company in Essen becomes aware of Kley’s talent for portraying topographical subjects. His precise drawing skill and keen understanding of colour allow him to capture the atmospheric moods specific to the realm of steel factories, workers’ cottages and shipyards. His life-like work, enriched with impressionist elements, soon wins over other big companies, and within a few years Kley is recognised as a first rate industrial painter – and a tremendously busy one at that.

The general public comes to know Kley through his contributions to the magazines Simplicissimus and Jugend, a line of work which moves him to relocate to Munich in 1909. Until World War I the magazines publish hundreds of his drawings, which range from humourous to satirical to downright grotesque. Social politics, technological advance, the ever complex relationships between man and woman – no matter which subject matter Kley chooses, he expresses his opinions imaginatively, with great psychological insight and distinctive virtuosity. His abilities also show in his characterisations of human behaviour through man-animal comparisons, which are equally sharp and hilarious.

After the end of World War I the artist, having been dealt blow upon harsh blow by fate, slips into oblivion. However, his drawings find a surprisingly appreciative audience in the USA. In the 1930s Walt Disney discovers Kley’s work and mines it to inspire his animated movies. Thus Kley’s art lives on in the characters of Dumbo, Fantasia and The Jungle Book and continues to delight an audience of millions.

PDF Download

Verfügbare Werke

Kley, Heinrich

Satyr mit zwei Mänaden

5.500 €

mehr Details

Der unentschlossene Rokokokavalier
Kley, Heinrich

Der unentschlossene Rokokokavalier

8.800 €

mehr Details

Gefangen
Kley, Heinrich

Gefangen

Preis auf Anfrage

mehr Details

Kentaurenjagd
Kley, Heinrich

Kentaurenjagd

3.800 €

mehr Details

Die Türme der Münchner Frauenkirche
Kley, Heinrich

Die Türme der Münchner Frauenkirche

4.800 €

mehr Details

Blumenstilleben
Kley, Heinrich

Blumenstilleben

4.200 €

mehr Details

Zeppelins Schatten
Kley, Heinrich

Zeppelins Schatten

6.500 €

mehr Details

Warmes Abendbrot
Kley, Heinrich

Warmes Abendbrot

5.500 €

mehr Details

Verkaufte Werke

Heinrich Kley - Frau Potiphar
Kley, Heinrich

Frau Potiphar

mehr Details

Heinrich Kley - Der Herr Lehrer
Kley, Heinrich

Der Herr Lehrer

mehr Details

Heinrich Kley - Die Schnellpresse
Kley, Heinrich

Die Schnellpresse

mehr Details

Heinrich Kley - Der Apfel
Kley, Heinrich

Der Apfel

mehr Details

Heinrich Kley - Wettrennen
Kley, Heinrich

Wettrennen

mehr Details

Biografie

Heinrich Kley

1863 Karlsruhe – 1945 München

Nach Beendigung des Studiums an der Karlsruher Kunstschule 1885 ist Heinrich Kley darum bemüht, sich im Kunstleben seiner badischen Heimatstadt zu etablieren. Zwar erhält er immer wieder Aufträge von ortsansässigen Privatpersonen, Behörden sowie Unternehmen, engagiert sich in der lokalen Künstlerschaft und nimmt an Ausstellungen teil, doch bleiben größere Erfolge letztlich aus.

Diese stellen sich erst nach 1900 ein, als das Unternehmen Krupp in Essen auf Kleys Fähigkeiten als Schilderer topographischer Sujets aufmerksam wird. Durch die Verbindung von zeichnerischer Präzision und koloristischem Feingefühl gelingt es ihm, die spezifischen atmosphärischen Stimmungen in der Welt der Gußstahlfabriken, Hüttenwerke und Schiffswerften einzufangen. Seine um impressionistische Elemente bereicherte realistische Kunstauffassung überzeugt bald auch andere große Unternehmen, so dass Kley innerhalb weniger Jahre den Ruf eines erstrangigen und vielbeschäftigten Industriemalers genießt.

Der breiten Öffentlichkeit wird Kley durch die Mitarbeit an den Zeitschriften Simplicissimus und Jugend bekannt, die ihn 1909 zum Umzug nach München bewegen. Bis zum Ersten Weltkrieg veröffentlichen sie hunderte seiner humoristischen, satirischen und grotesken Federzeichnungen. Themen der Gesellschaftspolitik, des technischen Fortschritts sowie des Verhältnisses zwischen Mann und Frau erfasst er mit phantasiereichen Bildideen, psychologischem Einfühlungsvermögen und unverwechselbarer Virtuosität. Mit gleicher Könnerschaft charakterisiert er menschliche Verhaltensweisen durch Mensch-Tier-Vergleiche pointiert und unterhaltsam.

Obwohl es nach dem Ersten Weltkrieg ruhig um den von Schicksalsschlägen getroffenen Künstler wird, erfahren seine Federzeichnungen eine erstaunliche Rezeption in den USA. In den späten 1930er Jahren wird Walt Disney auf sie aufmerksam und nutzt sie fortan als wichtige Inspirationsquelle für seine Zeichentrickfilme. So lebt Kleys Kunst in den Figuren von Dumbo, Fantasia und Dschungelbuch weiter und begeistert weltweit ein Millionenpublikum.

PDF Download