Available Artworks

Keller, Albert von

Poet and Muse

Price on request

more Details

Sold Artworks

Portrait of Lily disgeistes
Keller, Albert von

Portrait of Lily disgeistes

more Details

Music Lesson in the Artist's Drawing Room
Keller, Albert von

Music Lesson in the Artist’s Drawing Room

more Details

Biography

Albert von Keller

1844 Gais (Switzerland) – 1920 Munich

Albert Keller was the outstanding society painter active in Germany at the turn of the twentieth century. His cosmopolitan spirit, charm and social finesse secured him a prominent role in the Munich Secession, of which he was a founding member in 1892. He remained its deputy president until his death in 1920. He was elevated into the nobility in 1897. The aristocratic and haut bourgeois notions that governed the years between the founding of the German Empire and the First World War are mirrored not just in Keller’s own person but also in his art.

Keller’s artistic development was formed largely through independent study and private tuition rather than his period of training at the Munich Academy of Art. In the 1870s and 1880s he specialized in genre-style interiors influenced by French Salon painting. This brought him critical recognition and commercial success. He was respected both for his narrative skills and for the technical bravura of his brushwork. Areas of refined delicacy alternate with passages of very fluid, free execution, whereby the palette is reduced and predominantly tone-in-tone.

In 1878, Keller’s marriage to Irene von Eichthal, a banker’s daughter, brought him a large measure of financial security. The couple’s spacious apartment next to the Grandhotel Vier Jahreszeiten on Munich’s fashionable Maximilianstrasse was opulently furnished with Old Master paintings, bronze casts after the antique, European objets d’art and Far Eastern works of art. While offering something of a private haven the apartment also played host to Munich high society. This dual aspect is a recurrent theme in Keller’s work.

Keller was in contact with a large number of fellow artists and cultivated good relations with leading members of the German intelligentsia. As a member of the Psychologische Gesellschaft along with Carl du Prel, a philosopher, and Albert von Schrenck-Notzing, a psychiatrist and parapsychologist, he explored spiritualist and parapsychological phenomena, attending seances and necromantic rituals. Themes of this kind were to occupy a central role in Keller’s painting from the 1880s through to the turn of the century.

A major break in his work occurred in the early 1900s when he suffered personal tragedy. Female portraits in a more conventional genre began to predominate in his work and he turned to decorative depictions of the female nude executed in a fluid style reminiscent of Impressionism.

Keller advanced to be one of the most successful artists of his time even though he continually eschewed routinization and rejected the dictates of fashion. However firmly entrenched in contemporary trends his fifty-year career may have been, his oeuvre is none the less marked by a high level of artistic independence and remains an expression of his unique personality. This is what sets Keller apart from so many of his peers.

PDF Download

Verfügbare Werke

Keller, Albert von

Dichter und Muse

Preis auf Anfrage

mehr Details

Verkaufte Werke

Porträt Lily disgeistes
Keller, Albert von

Porträt Lily disgeistes

mehr Details

Musikstunde im Salon des Künstlers
Keller, Albert von

Musikstunde im Salon des Künstlers

mehr Details

Biografie

Albert von Keller

1844 Gais (Schweiz) – 1920 München

Unter den deutschen Salonmalern der Jahrhundertwende nimmt Albert Keller eine herausragende Stellung ein. Dank seines gewinnenden Wesens, kosmopolitischen Geistes und gesellschaftlichen Geschicks spielt er über Jahrzehnte hinweg eine Schlüsselrolle innerhalb der 1892 gegründeten Münchner Secession und wird 1897 in den persönlichen Adelsstand erhoben. Doch nicht nur seine Person, sondern auch sein Werk spiegeln das großbürgerlich-aristokratische Selbstverständnis der Epoche zwischen Reichsgründung und Erstem Weltkrieg wider.

Stärker noch als die Ausbildung an der Münchner Kunstakademie prägen privater Malunterricht sowie autodidaktische Studien die künstlerische Entwicklung Kellers. Unter dem Einfluss der französischen Salonmalerei spezialisiert er sich in den 1870er und 1880er Jahren auf genrehafte Interieurdarstellungen und erlangt damit erste Erfolge bei Publikum und Kritik. Geschätzt werden sowohl sein narratives Talent als auch sein Duktus, der mal feinmalerisch präzise, mal locker aufgelöst ist, wobei eine auf wenige Farbakkorde beschränkte Ton-in-Ton-Malerei vorherrscht.

Dank der 1878 geschlossenen Ehe mit der Bankierstochter Irene von Eichthal ist Keller sämtlicher materieller Sorgen enthoben. Seine direkt neben dem Grandhotel Vier Jahreszeiten gelegene Wohnung in der Münchner Maximilianstasse, die er mit Gemälden Alter Meister, Bronzegüssen nach der Antike sowie europäischen und asiatischen Antiquitäten ausstattet, ist gleichermaßen familiärer Ruhepol wie Treffpunkt der Gesellschaft. Beide Aspekte behandelt Keller immer wieder in seinen Gemälden.

Neben dem Kontakt zu Künstlern schätzt Keller den Verkehr mit Persönlichkeiten des Geisteslebens. Zu ihnen zählen der Philosoph Carl du Prel sowie der Arzt Albert von Schrenck-Notzing, die wie er Mitglieder der Psychologischen Gesellschaft sind. Zusammen setzt man sich mit spiritistischen und parapsychologischen Phänomenen auseinander, veranstaltet Séancen und Geisterbeschwörungen. Sie werden zu einem zentralen Thema in Kellers malerischem Werk der 1880er bis 1900er Jahre.

Getroffen von mehreren Schicksalsschlägen zeichnet sich nach der Jahrhundertwende eine Zäsur in Kellers Werk ab. Fortan dominieren repräsentative Damenporträts sowie dekorative weibliche Aktdarstellungen, die sich durch einen flüssigen, dem Impressionismus verwandten Duktus auszeichnen.

Gleichwohl Keller zu den erfolgreichsten Künstlern seiner Zeit zählt, fürchtet er kaum etwas so sehr wie Manier und Routine. Zwar steht sein ein halbes Jahrhundert umfassendes Oeuvre innerhalb der Strömungen seiner Zeit, doch bewahrt es ein hohes Maß an Eigenständigkeit und bleibt Ausdruck der individuellen Persönlichkeit ihres Urhebers. Hierdurch hebt sich Keller von vielen kaum weniger erfolgreichen Malern seiner Epoche ab.